Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

Lent is coming February 6, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — ladyblayde @ 8:39 am

It’s time for sacrifice. I do find it amusing that even the “Christmas and Easter” Catholics tend to give something up for Lent. But, that’s neither here nor there, so I shouldn’t go on a tirade. I mean, any sacrifice in the name of God is good.

Last year I gave up soda. It was HARD. I was drinking more than a 2 liter of soda every day. It was good for me, and even now I don’t drink nearly as much soda as I used to. So, this year I need to give up something that’s more of a sacrifice.

I’m thinking about giving up sweets.

… I’ll wait for you to pick your jaws up off the floor.

Ready?

Yes. Ice cream, cookies, pies, candy, cake – all that delicious, wonderful junk. If I want a sweet, I can have fruit. This would be a HUGE sacrifice for me. I honestly believe every day should include ice cream. My house is full of girl scout cookies. I have an emergency candy stash.

Yep. I think that’s going to be it. I’ve got a week left to binge on sweets. If you see me having ice cream as a meal in the next few days, you’ll know why.

 

One Response to “Lent is coming”

  1. I think that’s a great idea – I like the idea of giving up something that ends up, through its absence, adding meaning to the purpose of a season…


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers