Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

And it’s over January 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — ladyblayde @ 9:05 pm
Tags:

The surgery’s over, I’m recovering nicely. Yay!  They removed a stone as large as my gallbladder from my gallbladder.  All these years, whenever they did an ultrasound of my gallbladder, they “didn’t see anything out of the ordinary”.  That’s because they were seeing the stone itself, thinking it was the organ.

Post-surgery was tough.  The darvocet they gave me didn’t help much insofar as the pain went. I lay awake all night the night after the operation. I called the surgeon the next day, they told me to take tylenol in between doses. I’m down to regular tylenol and ibuprofen today.  I even drove Anna to dance.  I can’t lift anything heavier than a gallon of milk for about a month, which means poor Eva’s having to learn how to get out of the Xterra by herself.

Phil was a saint. He helped me a lot, and helped with the kids TONS.  MIL kept the kids some, and Amy’s been chauffeuring Anna to and from school for me.

The only question mark is how this is going to affect my diet.  So far, it looks good.  I ate two “normal” meals today and I feel fine. I am going to be cautious about resuming real food in a more agressive way.  I’ll stay away from fast food for a while longer.

So, that’s the latest on my health. Thanks for prayers, emails and calls.  They’ve all meant a lot to me.

 

Leave a Reply

