Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

You Degenerate, You! June 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — ladyblayde @ 7:13 pm
Tags:

Degenerative. That word has been echoing in my head today. I hate it.

Multilevel = more than one disc in my spine. Arthritis = an inflammation of the joints that causes pain, stiffness, swelling and limited movement. Then you toss the degenerative in the middle there. Websters says that it’s a progressive deterioration of physical characters from a level representing the norm of earlier generations or forms b : deterioration of a tissue or an organ in which its function is diminished or its structure is impaired. So, multilevel degenerative arthritis, aka degenerative disc disease, boils down to “Hold on kid. You’re in for a bumpy ride.”

I started the cobraxin on my lower back today, in hopes that helps the pain somewhat. See, the problem is that the pain I can handle. I’m used to it. I know how to deal with it. It’s the idea that my mobility is going to diminish that scares the hell out of me.

Ok. #TruthbombTuesday here. I have read that “Although the parts of the spine do change with time and in some sense degenerate, this does not mean the spine is deteriorating and that you are headed for future pain and problems. These terms are simply a starting point for describing what occurs in the spine over time, and how the changes may explain the symptoms people feel.” Also, only 1-3 percent of people with this ever need back surgery. It’s just not working its way through my head properly. Maybe it will once I sit face-to-face and talk with the doctor in seven weeks.

In other news…. Anna had a sleepover last night with her BFF. I’ve found that it’s generally the parent’s job to sit quietly and stay the hell out of the way. They were creating dances, dressing up in sparkly clothing, styling their hair – you name it. I just sat and read a book. This morning they made themselves breakfast. Anna never makes herself breakfast. Ever. But, I sat quietly while they put too much water in the pancake mix and filled my house with smoke. They were very happy and proud of themselves, and I got a chance to finish that book. And yes, they always include Eva in what they’re doing.

Time for a glass of wine. Goodnight.

 

One Response to “You Degenerate, You!”

  1. Linda Says:

    Hang in there! I was diagnosed with degenerative disk disease many years ago. I had a lot of pain for many years until my BFF talked me into seeing her cousin who is a chiropractor. He really has helped me a lot. With the pain gone I have more mobility.

    Love to you!


Leave a Reply

