Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

It’s a sauna in here July 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — ladyblayde @ 3:28 pm

I love living in South Texas – San Antonio, more specifically. It’s a HUGE city, both geographically and population-wise, but people are still nice and have that “small town” feel. If I drive two minutes from my house, I’m in the gorgeous Hill Country. I’m only two and a half hours from the beach, which is where I go to recharge my psyche. I am the true definition of “I wasn’t born in Texas, but I got here as fast as I could”.

The only problem is it’s so damned hot. The average temp+heat index is over 100 right now. No, it’s not a “dry” heat. It’s a “Please don’t let the neighbors see me walking around naked to keep cool” heat. In the afternoon and early evening, you just don’t want to go out and do anything. It sucks, because there was a lot of outdoorsy things left on my “Summer Fun To Do” with the girls.

It does appear Anna will be in 4 dance classes + Team this fall. That’s me assuming she’ll move up to Tap/Hip Hop 2, but I think that’s a safe assumption. Yikes. I worry so much about her being overloaded, but she absolutely adores it. Competition time and convention time is her favorite. She thrives on getting up on stage and entertaining. I never, ever wanted to be one of those parents that pushed their kids. At least once a week, Phil and I ask her if it’s still fun and if she still wants to do it. She always says yes.

Eva “insisted” that I put a soccer emblem on the back of my car. I guess she’s going to keep it up for a while. Eva would be perfectly happy to sit home, watch TV and play all day. We have to “encourage” her to do things. I don’t care what she does, but she needs to be doing something. I don’t care if it’s soccer, dance, t-ball, gymnastics, scouts or a school club, once she’s in school. I just want her to be involved in at least one thing.

I’ve been thinking lately… My parents didn’t really go out and “party” once I was born. They didn’t have a lot of couple-friends outside of the family, and they didn’t go out to a lot of social functions that I wasn’t involved in. I guess part of me grew up thinking that once you became a parent, your fun was done and it was your kids turn. Guess what… That’s not the way it really is! Phil and I socialize with a quite a few other couples. We go on dates and enjoy having a good time. It feels weird to me sometimes leaving my kids behind to socialize. I’m still working on that one.

I’ve been off my muscle relaxer for almost a week. It was an insurance thing, I won’t bore you with details. Suffice it to say, it got fixed today, so I gleefully will take it again tonight. The bag that it came in read “Your insurance saved you $706.” That’s for a 30 day supply. I do not understand how it is OK to charge that much for a medication. It blows me away. Thank God we have insurance, I guess.

That’s it for right now, faithful readers. Go check out Phil’s blog. He’s been having a really tough time of it and could use some support.

 

Leave a Reply

