Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

Soundtracks July 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — ladyblayde @ 7:22 pm
Tags:

I was listening to my Sirus today. It’s amazing how music ties so closely to memories.

The 80s… Def Leppard, Duran Duran, Prince, Go Gos… For me, the 80s was high school. My first kiss, my first concert, my first drink, my first job. When I hear “King of Wishful Thinking,” I’m automatically back in that car stereo installation place (that sold drugs out of the back room) ringing up customers’ (legal) sales. Billy Idol’s “Mony Mony” takes me to high school dances and the obscene things we would scream during the song. When “Nothin’s Gonna Stop Us Now” plays, I’m singing along with Brian in the music room. Oh! And remember Denee’s EPIC sweet 16?! Then, of course, early Metallica reminds me of the “Bad” ex and all the secrets that went along with him.

The 90s… R.E.M., Presidents of the United States, Barenaked Ladies, Pearl Jam… The 90s was my “Summer of George” – well, the last half, anyway. Too Much Joy takes me to road trip after road trip after road trip with Kim as my co-pilot in Motel Probe. Philip and I danced to Bryan Adams’ “Everything I Do” at our wedding. Cher’s “Believe” was the #1 song the week we took our company – the one WE built – public. So many poker games (some we can’t remember!) with T.J., Rene, D.J., Jaime, Juan … And who could forget dancing to “It’s the End of the World As We Know It” at midnight as 1999 turned into 2000?!

The 2K’s (Decade Without A Name)… Destiny’s Child, Gwen Stephani, Shakira, Beyonce… WOMEN POWER! It seemed like everywhere you turned, the music was empowering to women. This was my “settling down” time. We started a family. I had a lot of health problems. “In Da Club” was playing when I no longer went to clubs! Anna did a dance routine to “Clumsy.” Eva sang along to “I Gotta Feeling.”

I don’t know what the soundtrack to the Teens will be yet. I can only hope it contains the same great memories that the rest have had.

 

Leave a Reply

