Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

January 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — ladyblayde @ 3:35 pm
Tags:

Time for a new blog. I’ve mad so many rattling around my brain lately that I just didn’t know where to start.

It’s absolutely beautiful today – low 70s and not a cloud in the sky. I’m watching the grackles, doves, cowbirds and wrens devour the food I’ve got out for them. The big birds push the feeder a little bit, letting the seed fall to the ground so they can eat it. Smart or cunning? I don’t know.

We’ve also had a strange spat of stray cats in the neighborhood lately. Yes, of course I feed them. There’s a gorgeous orange cat that Anna has named “Tabulon” who comes by quite frequently. He likes to jump onto the outside windowsill while Jake’s on the inside one. Tabulon’s unusually friendly for a stray. He’d come in the house if I’d let him. (No, I won’t.) We are thinking of getting another cat, though. (Yes, Dad I can hear you saying that I’m crazy.) My cats aren’t “sit on your lap and snuggle” cats. I miss that.

Amy’s due ridiculously soon. I can’t believe Daphne will be here in a matter of weeks. Her boys are over here on my living room floor playing. Anna and Taylor got into a fight yesterday as they were walking home. Girl stuff. Today Anna got into a fight with Anny, her best friend in her class. More girl stuff. My Anna is a very sensitive child. I don’t know how to help her on that one, because under my “Screw You” exterior I am too.

I am hoping to work on our income taxes tonight. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to get that money in the bank soon, so I can pay off a few hospital bills. And get a new TV. I want a new TV in the living room.

I have come to understand, if not accept, that my hands are going to give me trouble. I can cut half a chicken breast by myself, then I need to have someone cut the rest for me. Embarrassing.

Time to close the laptop.

C

 

Leave a Reply

