Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

Tough month February 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — ladyblayde @ 9:51 am
Tags:

So, everyone’s been sick this month. We’ve had the flu, strep, pink eye, sinus infection, upper respiratory infection and unexplained fever. It was one after the other. Very few of those were at the same time. It hit everyone in the family except me. πŸ™‚ I guess all that Vitamin C helped after all!

Eva started doing something very disconcerting. Last Sunday, she started “flipping” her hands. She’d turn them over and over, then lay them back on her lap. She said she didn’t realize she was doing it, it was “an accident”. She could stop it if she tried, but when she stopped thinking about it, it would come back. We went to the doctor on Monday and she did a lot of neurological tests. She thinks Eva just has a “tic”. She says it’ll probably last six months to a year, then just go away on its own. Eva’s still doing it, but she’s added either smelling her hands or blowing on them to this routine. It’s happening a LOT less than it was on Sunday, but it’s still there. They did say it wasn’t neurological, seizures or Tourettes and that a lot of kids do this. We’re just supposed to ignore it and not make a big deal of it. For her sake, I hope it goes away before school starts this fall.

Phil’s doing a lot better with his anxiety. You can read about it here. He doesn’t blog as often as he should, but things are completely different than they were.

My hands are back and forth. Last night the middle finger on my right hand was hurting me so badly I had trouble going to sleep. I remember Mom had that trouble – she said it was overuse of that finger. πŸ™‚ I’m trying to get out to walk more often. Problem is that it hurts my hips, my knees or my feet. I keep pressing on, but damn it’s hard. I feel like I need someone to help push me along.

Daddy goes into the hospital in a couple of weeks so they can change his medicine. He’s been having a lot of atrial fib episodes. Here’s praying that fixes it! πŸ™‚

I’ve been trying to do some genealogical research lately. It’s almost overwhelming – there’s so much to find! I’ve found where everyone on Phil’s side of the family came to the US. I’ve found where Dad’s side of the family came to the US, but I’m still researching Mom’s side. I’ve gone back about 250 years so far, but they were in the US even back then. Very interesting – too bad it costs $30 a month to research this!

I’ve got a type of spring fever. πŸ™‚ I want my house clean and organized. I’ve also started several projects around the house. The downstairs bathroom is half painted. I’m going to put a raised container garden in the back yard. I want to plant some bushes in the front. I want to get rid of the enormous entertainment center in our living room and replace it with a flat screen TV hung on the wall. Everything in time, right?

That’s all for today. Eva wants me to look through pictures with her, and we’re having lunch with my BFF. Time to start the day!

 

Leave a Reply

