Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

Tick tock December 18, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — ladyblayde @ 9:28 pm
Tags:

In 485 days, I will turn 40.

Huh.

How bout that.

Thirty? I dreaded it. But 40? Forty I look at in kind of a wonder. I don’t really know what to make of it. I mean, it’s a milestone, for sure. I won’t be able to argue with the fact that I’m “middle aged”. I’ll have to get a yearly mammogram. I’m not really dreading it, though. I want to make sure that I’m “on track” with my life. Crazy, isn’t it? I mean, “Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans” is so true. So, I’m asking some of the smartest people I know what THEIR opinion is of things to put on my “Do Before 40” list.

Please give me your input. Some of you are far ahead of me, for sure. Some of you are but babes in the woods, not yet 30. Then, we have my high school friends. I’m dragging you with me, kicking and screaming.

Some things I’ve already done:
* Got married
* Moved to a city I knew nothing about
* Had children
* Fell in love
* Had my heart broken
* Broken a heart or two
* Failed horribly
* Succeeded beyond my wildest dreams
* Started a business
* Learned by doing
* Learned by studying
* Taken a spontaneous road trip

What should I do in the next 485 days?

— C

 

One Response to “Tick tock”

  1. Tom Flynn Says:

    Master an obscure skill! : )


Leave a Reply

