Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

Motivation January 5, 2012

Filed under: Kids — ladyblayde @ 8:22 am
Tags:

Why is it that some days you wake up ready to take on the world, and the very next day the world can go screw it? I’ve been on fire this week – whittling my to do list down, while constantly adding to it. Today, I think I want to lay on the couch and read. Or watch tv. Or sleep.

Strangely enough, it used to be days like this are when I’d get the most done. I’d force myself to get off the couch to prove I’m not lazy, then one project leads to another to another. Then BOOM, it’s time to get the kids.

Anna’s at that age. She’s trying so hard to balance that fine line between being a little girl and being a young woman. She is taking longer in the morning to get dressed and is caring for her appearance more than I’ve seen her do before. Her moods can change on a dime. She’s testing her independence. It’s amazing to watch. And more than a little terrifying.

I still don’t know what to do about Eva. She is so afraid of the world. Phil says we need to expose her to her fears more often and use the “immersion” technique. I’m concerned it will push her off the deep end. On the other side of that – she has been trying to manipulate me quite a bit lately. I’m calling her bluff about 90% of the time. It’s the other 10% I need to work on. I’m just a softy when it comes to my kids.

 

Leave a Reply

