Sarcasm and Whimsy

Life shouldn't be a trek to the grave with the idea of arriving safely in a nice, well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, whiskey & chocolate in hand, body used up, worn out & screaming, "WOO! WHAT A RIDE!"

I like to move it, move it… October 2, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — ladyblayde @ 7:38 am
Tags:

So, we’re moving. Not tomorrow, but hopefully next summer. When we built this house in early 2002, we loved the neighborhood, we loved the house, we loved our neighbors and the location was awesome. Most of those things we loved are gone now.

Our neighborhood was hit buy the housing market crash. A lot of the houses that were in foreclosure went to rentals and section 8. Now, let me start by saying that not all renters are bad! Our current next door rental neighbor and the house next to them are FABULOUS. They take care of their houses, they are friendly and don’t cause any trouble in the neighborhood. Unfortunately they are the exception, not the rule. We don’t feel safe in our neighborhood anymore. There is one house on the block that is home to a known prostitute and another that has drug dealers/gang members. I can’t raise my kids here.

My goal is to have the house on the market around the first of the year. That means I’ve got two months to stage it for a sale. I don’t plan on spending a lot of money on it, but there is a lot of work that I’ll need to do decorating-wise. I’ve got to take down all religious and family pictures from the walls. That really won’t leave me with hardly anything up.

We aren’t looking to move until June at the earliest, though. I’m just realistic about how long houses in this area are on the market. Let me tell you, it’s both fun and overwhelming to house hunt. Phil’s got an awesome Uncle who is going to be our agent, thank God, but right now I’m just searching zillow for areas and ideas. It seems that Cibilo will be the best area for us, based upon location to Phil’s work and excellent schools.

Anyway, that’s the big news in our life.

 

One Response to “I like to move it, move it…”

  1. Wow… I remember when y’all were building that house…

    Seriously, if you’re looking for how to stage it, Joce watches all kinds of shows on HGTV and the like that offer good suggestions. 🙂


Leave a Reply

